The Lamar Porter Complex is nestled in the Historic Stifft Station District of the City of Little Rock between UAMS (University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences) and the State Capitol Building in Little Rock. The 10 acre site covers four blocks and was gifted to the Little Rock Boys' Club (now the Boys & Girls Club of Central Arkansas) in memory of Lamar Porter.

The complex contains the Billy Mitchell Boys and Girls Club, a yet to be named multipurpose Field, a practice field, Woodruff Community Garden, a playground and recreational area and historic Lamar Porter Field and Stadium. The complex was constructed under the WPA (Works Projects Administration) on a site identified by John Nolen, a nationally renowned city planner, who was dismayed by Little Rock's lack of recreational facilities. Construction began in 1934 and the field opened in 1937.

Today Lamar Porter Field and the multipurpose field are home to RBI (Reviving Baseball in the Inner-city) which is an official program of Major League Baseball. Both Catholic High School and Episcopal Collegiate use Lamar Porter as their home field. Hall of Famer Brooks Robinson first played baseball as a youth at Lamar Porter Field. In 1984, portions of "A Soldier's Story," starring Denzel Washington, were filmed at Lamar Porter. Lamar Porter Field was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on December 6, 1990.

Phone: 501-666-8816

Sign up for our eMail newsletter
Keep up to date with all current news and updates from The Lamar Porter Complex Revitalization Committee.

  • Should be Empty: